Shamokin PA

Romanoski Hall of Fame inductees preview continues

The Bernie Romanoski Sr. chapter of the Pennsylvania Sports Hall of Fame will honor eight adults, four student athletes and the 1989-1990 Line Mountain state championship-winning wrestling team during its annual induction breakfast at 10 a.m. Saturday, April 21 at Masser’s Banquet Hall in Paxinos.

Craig Taxis, Neil Whary, Leroy Zalewski, Willard Reed, Christopher Hodrick, Steve Dreibelbis, John Lazicki and Mark Scisly will be recognized along with Line Mountain student-athletes Maura Lundy, Tyler Boyer, Sierra Bobb and C.J. Koperna during the ceremony.

Below are capsule looks at each of the student athletes set to be honored during Saturday’s ceremony:

Maura Lundy, Joseph Bordell Scholar Award

A two-sport athlete, Lundy is involved in several clubs and has earned a place on the distinguished honor roll every marking period during her high school career. At Line Mountain, she is a member of the National Honor Society, Key Club and the school’s Advisory Council, in addition to serving as Student Council Treasurer, preside of the Future Business Leaders of America, E-Force President and treasurer of the Science Club.

Athletically, she has been a four-year letter winner as a member of the girls basketball team and a two year letter winner as a member of the girls soccer team, serving this past season as a captain of both squads.

A daughter of Ian and Jill Lundy, of Dalmatia, she plans to attend Misericordia University to major in occupational therapy.

Tyler Boyer, Joe Bordell Scholar Athlete

A distinguished honor roll student throughout his high school career, Tyler Boyer is ranked in the top ten of his senior class at Line Mountain. While maintaining his high scademic standing, he has also managed his time well enough to be a part of the Future Business Leaders of America, Ski Club, archery team and serve as a treasurer of the Class of 2018.

In addition, he earned four varsity letters as a member of the football team, while serving as a team captain during his senior season. He is also a three year letterman as a member of the Eagles baseball squad.

A son of Tom and Carla Boyer, of Herndon, Boyer plans to study civil engineering at either Penn State University of the University of Pittsburgh.

Sierra Bobb, Charles Nesbitt Sportsmanship Award

Bobb has earned three varsity letters as a member of the Line Mountain field hockey team, serving as a captain the past two seasons, when the Eagles have captured successive District Four championships. The past two seasons, she has earned honorable mention status of the all-state teams, while being a first-team All Tri-Valley League selection as a junior.

Bobb has also earned three varsity letters as a member of the Eagles softball team. She is currently competing in track and field as a member of the co-op Line Mountain-Upper Dauphin team.

C.J. Koperna, Charles Nesbitt Sportsmanship Award

During a standout athletic career, Chris “C.J.” Koperna Jr. has been a four year starter on the Line Mountain wrestling team and a two year letter winner as a member of the football squad. A member of the Future Business Leaders of America, he has also earned distinguished honor roll status as a student.

A son of Chris and Erika Koperna, of Herndon, C.J. plans to attend a four year college and major in environmental science.