Shamokin PA

Reviewing the 2018 area dirt track racing season

Rain was once again the winner Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Here’s a quick review of the season to date and a look at what’s coming for the rest of the month at the Super Speedway of Dirt Track Racing located in Snyder County.

Defending track champion Davie Franek won the 360 sprint car season opener back in April. Former track champion Jason Shultz also scored a feature win in April. Last weekend, Blane Heimbach, another former champion, defeated the traveling ASCS drivers for his first win at the track this season.

Franek leads Shultz by 50 points in the standings.

In super late model racing, Bryan Bernheisel of Lebanon is the lone feature winner. He defeated Gene Knaub, Jim Bernheisel, Hayes Mattern and Brett Schadel.

Kyle Bachman, Brad Mitch and Tommy Slanker have pro stock wins this year, and Ryan Zook and Keith Bissinger have roadrunner wins.

Sunbury’s Mark Smith won the 410 Sprint car feature at the track a few weeks ago.

This Saturday night the super late models will compete in the Moon Shine Camo Rt. 35 Series. The 360 sprint cars, pro stocks and roadrunners join the program. It will also be camera and autograph night.

The Jack Gunn Memorial for the 360 sprints will be held Saturday night, May 26, along with late models, pro stocks, roadrunners and a fireworks display.

The pit area has been moved outside the track allowing fans to get a completely wide open view of all the racing action.

Former Selinsgrove track champions had a great Friday night racing in the western part of the state. Sunbury’s Mark Smith won the United Racing Club sprint car feature at Bedford Speedway over Jason Shultz and Chad Layton.

At Big Diamond Speedway Friday night, Craig VonDohren won the 35-lap topless (no roof) feature for the modifieds. The track’s all-time feature winner earned $5,000. Ryan Godown, Duane Howard, Jeff Strunk and Jared Umbenhauer completed the top five. VonDohren took the lead from Godown on a final lap restart. Ryan Watt, Dale Hartz, Jimmy Reppert, John Willman and Frank Porreca rounded out the top 10.

Nate Klinger won the 20-lap feature for the sportsman modifieds. Doug Hendricks, Craig Whitmoyer, Alex Yankowski and Daryl Dissinger completed the top five.

Mike Reichert won the roadrunner feature over Jim Kost, Chris Holland, Shawn Mulhall and Fred Everly.

At Williams Grove Speedway, Lance Dewease took the lead from Steve Buckwalter with an inside pass in turn two with 10 laps completed and went on to win the sprint car feature Friday night. The win was the 89th of his career at the Grove and moves him within one win of tying Fred Rahmer for most all-time. Danny Dietrich nipped Lucas Wolfe at the line finishing second. Wolfe was third followed by Buckwalter and Australian James McFadden, who will spend his third straight summer driving for Matt Highlands in the No. 3 car based in Carlisle.

The World of Outlaws sprint cars come to central Pennsylvania this week. The series stops first at Lincoln Speedway in Hanover Wednesday night, and then two nights at Williams Grove Friday and Saturday for the annual Morgan Cup weekend.

Selinsgrove’s Cody Keller led the first laps of the 358 sprint feature at the Grove Friday night before rain postponed the finish. The cars were pacing under caution when the skies opened up leading to the postponement.

All Saturday night dirt track racing in the area was rained out.