CATAWISSA RR — Newcomers Brianna Maciejewski and Drew Hampton won double nominations to four-year terms on the Southern Columbia Area School Board in Tuesday’s primary election.

Evan Gajkowski and James Levan earned nominations in the Democratic race while incumbents Gregory Klebon and Timothy Vought advanced to the general election on the Republican ticket.

Three incumbents — James Rosenberger, John Yocum and Kaye Keller — as well as Chadd Sober, Eli Yemzow and Chase Urban failed to earn nominations as either a Democrat or Republican.

The six who earned nominations Tuesday will vie for four seats on the general election ballot.

The term for boardmember Joseph Klebon, who will compete for one of three spots for Northumberland County commissioner, will expire in December 2021.

In the Democratic race, Maciejewski had the highest combined votes between Northumberland and Columbia counties with 265 (99 and 166); followed by Hampton’s 203 (53 and 150); Gajkowski, 181 (64 and 117); and Levan, 177 (48 and 129).

On the Republican side, Maciejewski had 551 votes (208 and 343); Hampton, 534 (182 and 352); Vought, 371 (246 and 125); and Klebon, 369 (244 and 125).

Joshua Maciejewski will run uncontested in the general election for a two-year seat on the board, having earned a double nomination against Vought.

In the Democratic race, he received 299 (98 and 201) votes against Vought’s 188 (100 and 88). On the Republican side, Maciejewski received 715 (238 and 477) against Vought’s 373 (228 and 145).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.