SAHS Scholastic Awards Program students

ABOVE: Shamokin Area High School students being honored await the start of the 2019 Scholastic Awards Program. LEFT: Jayla Klase, center, received the inaugural Marian Eleanor Weikel Scholarship presented by Richard Weikel, left, during the program at Shamokin Area Middle/High School in Coal Township.

COAL TOWNSHIP — It was a chief night Wednesday for top Indians as Shamokin Area Middle/High School honored its finest. Sixty students received nearly 100 scholastic awards, the scholarships of which were funded by a number of benefactors.

Jayla Klase received the inaugural Marian Eleanor Weikel Scholarship Award, which will pay, in full, her four-year college tuition. The award pays up to $40,000 per year.

“This scholarship award, which is named after my grandmother, was funded by my parents. My father, Keith Weikel, is the one who funded the scholarship, but he was unable to attend this evening, so I agreed to be the presenter on behalf of our family,” said Richard Weikel, of New York.

The two-hour ceremony, which handed out numerous awards with a variety of presenters, included several repeat winners.

Class salutatorian Abigail Nye received 12 awards, including the Hesser Family Award, Scott Bramhall Award, Class of 1913 Award, Jane Bastress Award and Garnett-Willow Award.

Marshall Buggy, valedictorian, received nine awards, including the Jean Louise Stellfox Memorial Award.

“For me, this has been the culmination of four years of hard work. I’m happy to finally be here and to have realized this achievement, for which I’m truly honored,” Buggy said. “I also want to congratulate all of my fellow classmates.”

School Principal Todd Hockenbroch acknowledged the graduating students, their hard work and accomplishments.

“This year, our students will receive a total of $500,000 in various scholarship awards covering a four-year period,” Hockenbroch said. “I’m extremely proud of them and want to wish them all the best.”

Class top 10

The top 10 students in the SAHS graduating Class of 2019 were recognized on stage at the conclusion of the ceremony.

They are as follows:

  1. Marshall Buggy.
  2. Abigail Nye.
  3. Robert Rebuck.
  4. Spencer Balonis.
  5. Lauren Wagner.
  6. Clif Zheng.
  7. Payton Whary.
  8. Quinn Rollman.
  9. Jameson Kramer. 10. Chloe Kramer.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.