Shamokin Board

Members of Shamokin Area School Board include, sitting from left, Charles Shuey, vice president Melissa Hovenstine, president Brian Persing and Laura Scandle; standing, Edward Griffiths, Steve Cook, Erik Anderson and outgoing president Jeff Kashner. Robert Getchey, not pictured, also serves on the board.

COAL TOWNSHIP — Brian Persing was unanimously elected president of Shamokin Area School Board Wednesday night during the board’s annual reorganization meeting.

Persing was nominated for the one-year position by director Edward Griffiths, whose motion was second by board member Charles Shuey. Also casting affirmative votes were Steve Cook, Laura Scandle, Erik Anderson, Jeff Kashner and Melissa Hovenstine. Board member Robert Getchey was absent.

Hovenstine was unanimously elected vice president of the board for a one-year term.

Hovenstine, Persing and Shuey were appointed to represent the district on the Northumberland County Career and Technology Center Operating Agency.

Attorney Tim Bowers was reappointed board solicitor for a one-year term at $75 per hour with no benefits, and an annual retainer of $3,500.

The board agreed to continue to conduct its regular meetings at 7:30 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month, with the exception of July and December.

An executive session was held prior to the reorganization meeting.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.