Schuylkill County’s Big Diamond Speedway looks to kick off their 48th season of racing action tonight, as the Minersville area 3/8 mile dirt oval will host a four division show at 7:45.

Following last Sunday’s practice session, it’s all systems go for the off-season improvements including new lighting and additional clay to the racing surface. The headlining small block (358) modifieds will compete for a $4,000 winner’s paycheck offered for the 30-lap feature winner. The sportsman, roadrunners and street stocks will also compete in a full racing program.

Joining track regulars Jeff Strunk, Duane Howard, Craig Von Dohren and John Willman will be former track champions Billy Pauch Jr and Rick Laubach along with Frank Cozze, Tim Apgar, Willy Osmun Jr. and others as weekly modified competitors. Gates open tonight at 5 and warmups start at 7:15.

Following last night’s race at Virginia Motor Speedway, Tony Stewart will bring his Ollie’s Bargain Outlets All-Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 to Pennsylvania to kick off the 2019 season. The All-Stars will visit Williams Grove Speedway tonight, Port Royal Speedway tomorrow and Bedford Speedway on Sunday.

2018 ASCoC Champion Aaron Ruetzel of Texas will lead the charge along with Greg Wilson, Chad Kemenah, Brock Zearfoss, Dave Blaney, Paul McMahan and others will look to battle with the feared PA Posse for the $6,000 paycheck of the 30-lap feature event.

Following last week’s rainout, Williams Grove will welcome the ASCoC with the Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial Classic. Hinnershitz of Oley, PA won the first-ever race at the Mechanicsburg oval in 1939, while amassing over 100 wins, he collected numerous championships and competed in three Indy 500s in his career. He is still recognized as one of the best sprint car drivers of all time.

Gates open tonight at 5:30 for the ASCoC and 305 sprint car show, with a 7:30 starting time at the historic half mile.

Port Royal honors another PA sprint car legend tomorrow night, with the $6,000-to-win Keith Kauffman Classic for the ASCoC and the Mason Dixon limited late models compete in a $1,000-to-win main event, with a 6 p.m. start.

Kauffman, known as “The Man from Mifflintown” is the winningest sprint car driver at the Juniata County oval with 129 victories and also has 24 ASCoC wins to his storied career.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Series led by Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, Jonathan Davenport and other invaders will look to take the $10,000 paycheck from PA drivers Jeff Rine, Rick Eckert, Andy Haus and others for the special Sunday evening show. Gates open at 3 p.m. and racing starts at 6, and the Mason Dixon limited late models are also on the card.

Other racing action finds Clinton County Motor Speedway opening their gates for the 2019 season with a five card show of limited late models, 305 sprint cars, pro stocks, 270 and 600 micro sprints…tomorrow finds Lincoln Speedway featuring a three division sprint car program of 358 sprint cars, 410 sprint cars and USAC East Coast wingless sprint cars. Freddie Rahmer will look to grab his third consecutive 410 sprint car feature win…Grandview Speedway kicks off its regular season for the NASCAR 358 modifieds and sportsman at 7 p.m., following last week’s Bruce Rogers Memorial. New York star Matt Sheppard collected the $7,500 paycheck over Jeff Strunk, Rick Laubach, Jared Umbenhauer and Kevin Hirthler completed the top five…Selinsgrove Speedway opened last Saturday with Kyle Reinhardt taking the sprint car win. Colby Frye (Late Models), Brandon Moser (Pro Stock) and Smith Cope (Roadrunners) were the opening day winners. Gates open at 4 with a 6 p.m. start time for the four division show…Matt Hirschman took home the opening day 100-lap special for the modifieds at Mahoning Valley Speedway last Saturday night to collect the $3,000 check. The Lehighton oval drops the green flag at 6 p.m. tomorrow for the six division show of modifieds, late models, street stocks, dirt mods, pro four cylinders and hobby stocks…Baps Motor Speedway offers a special “Features Only” show tomorrow, with the winged super sportsman, limited late models, street stocks and PA Legends slated…after a successful opening day last Saturday, Five Mile Point Speedway is off tomorrow, returning with the Doug Worthing Memorial for modifieds next Saturday…Woodhull Raceway hosts another open practice session tomorrow, as teams look forward to next Saturday’s season opener.

Winners of last week’s Denso Plugs Four Wide Nationals at the Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway were Mike Salinas (Top Fuel), JR Todd (Funny Car), Bo Butner (Pro Stock) and Hector Arana JR. (P/S Bike).The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series returns to action at Houston Raceway Park for the MOPAR Express Lane Spring Nationals. Fox Sports1 will provide qualifying coverage tonight at 9:30 and eliminations coverage on Sunday at 2 p.m., with live coverage beginning at 3 p.m.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.