The first Eastern tour of 2019 for the NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws, found the Series pulling into the famed Lincoln Speedway on Wednesday night for the Gettysburg Clash and the PA Posse left with the bragging rights for the first of three races in the Keystone State.

Forty-three sprint car teams packed the Abbottstown oval for the battle between the PA Posse and the Outlaws, and when the checkered flag was unfurled on the 35-lap feature event, Lance Dewease in the Kreitz Racing #69k claimed the $10,000 winner’s check.

After a spirited battle with early race leader, David Gravel, Dewease was able to make the winning move on lap 18 to score his 16th career World of Outlaws victory. Fellow PA Posse driver Ryan Smith came home second, as Gravel was the first WoO driver across the stripe in third. Rounding out the top ten were Brad Sweet, Shane Stewart, Lucas Wolfe, Ian Madsen, Jacob Allen, Logan Schuchart and Kraig Kinser. WoO points leader Donny Schatz used a provisional to start the feature in 25th spot and finished 11th while Lincoln Speedway point leader Alan Krimes also needed to use a provisional starting spot and finished 13th. Notable non-qualifiers 2018 Clash winner, Freddie Rahmer, Dave Blaney, Sheldon Haudenschild and Carson Macedo.

Battling weather issues across the nation throughout the early 2019 season, the NOS Energy Drink World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series invades Williams Grove Speedway for a two-day show tonight before heading to New York’s Weedsport Speedway on Sunday evening.

Following Wednesday night’s Gettysburg Clash at Lincoln Speedway, the Outlaws led by Donny Schatz will look to take on the PA Posse in a full program tonight at Williams Grove Speedway, leading to a 25-lap feature paying $8,000 to the winner. Tomorrow’s show will be a battle for the Morgan Cup between the PA Posse and Outlaws, named after the late owner of the speedway, Morgan Hughes.

The Morgan Cup battle will be another complete show of time trials, qualifying heats and consolation events, leading to the 40-lap, $12,000-to-win feature event. The winner will also receive a $5,000 bonus and the Morgan Cup bragging rights, for the PA Posse or WoO driver. Racing action begins at the Mechanicsburg oval at 7:30 both nights.

Some of the early season winners on the Outlaw tour are Donny Schatz, Brad Sweet, David Gravel and Pennsylvania native Logan Schuchart. Williams Grove has only been able to complete three events this season with weather issues, as Lucas Wolfe, Dan Dietrich and Lance Dewease are the winners heading into tonight’s action.

Big Diamond Speedway looks to get their 2019 season opener in the books tonight with a very active program. The USAC Eastern Wingless sprint cars join the sportsman, roadrunners, street stocks and 600cc modifieds, with a 7:45 p.m. starting time.

Clinton County Speedway has suffered through the same weather woes as Big Diamond, but looks to offer a five division show of limited late models, 305 sprint cars, pro stocks, 270 and 600cc sprint cars, with a 7:30 p.m. starting time.

The USAC Eastern Wingless sprint cars head to Grandview Speedway tomorrow night, joining the NASCAR Modifieds and sportsman, with a 7:30 start…Lincoln Speedway is off tomorrow night following the Wednesday Gettysburg Clash, and Port Royal Speedway is off, as well. Port Royal will be busy preparing for next weekend’s, two-day Bob Weikert Memorial, May 25-26….Selinsgrove Speedway offers one of their highest paying late model races of the season, tomorrow night, with the 52-lap Ron Keister Memorial, paying $11,000 to the winner of the feature. Also on the 7 p.m. card will be the 360 sprint cars and pro stocks….Baps Motor Speedway hosts a four division show at 6 p.m. of winged super sportsman, 305 sprint cars, street stocks and extreme stock cars...on the asphalt side of racing, Mahoning Valley Speedway offers modifieds, late models, street stocks, dirt mods, pro four cylinders and hobby stocks, at 6 p.m...action in New York finds Woodhull Raceway honoring Police, Fire fighters and EMS with a full show of Modifieds, crate sportsman, street stocks, hobby stocks, mini stocks and front wheel drives warriors at 6:30. Former Selinsgrove Speedway Sprint Car Champion Davie Franek won the Patriot Sprint Tour feature last Saturday night and Billy Van Pelt scored his second consecutive Modified feature in 2019 at the “Bullring”….Binghamton’s Five Mile Point Speedway returns to action at 6 p.m. with the Modifieds, crate sportsman, factory stocks, four cylinders and 600cc modifieds.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series heads to Richmond, Virginia this weekend for race number eight of the 24 event slate, for the Second Annual Virginia Nationals at Virginia Motorsports Park.

Fox Sports1 will carry qualifying action tonight at 10:30 and live qualifying coverage at 1:30 tomorrow and eliminations coverage at 5 p.m. on Sunday. After a six week layoff, the NHRA Pro Stocks return to action, joining the Top Fuel, Funny Car and P/S Bike classes.

Current Top Fuel point leader, Steve Torrence is the defending event winner, while 2018 winners Courtney Force (Funny Car) and Tanner Gray (Pro Stock) are not competing this season and LE Tonglet was the 2018 P/S Bike winner.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.