Tim Shaffer threw all he had at Freddie Rahmer Friday night, but it was Rahmer holding on to win the Night Before the 50 sprint car feature at Port Royal Speedway.

His third career All Star Circuit of Champions win — and first career at Port Royal — was worth $5,000. It’s the fourth straight new winner at the track.

Rahmer has two wins against the All Stars this season, and a first career win against the World of Outlaws as well.

It was a complete night for the 22-year-old from Salfordville.

“There’s so many parts of the night that have to go together to win this race,” Rahmer said. “Tim was loose at the beginning. I got lucky and got by him in lapped traffic. I ran out of fuel with one to go and the red came out. There was a little bit of luck there. I couldn’t let up with Tim Shaffer back there. That was way too many shots for him on those restarts. I’ve got to do a better job with that, but we got away with it tonight.”

Shaffer ducked under Rahmer on a final restart and was next to him in turn two, but couldn’t complete the pass as Rahmer shot off the top securing the lead and win. Shaffer settled for second ahead of Ryan Smith, Brock Zearfoss and Lance Dewease. Lucas Wolfe, Brian Brown, Paul McMahan, Aaron Reutzel and Logan Wagner rounded out the top 10.

Jeff Rine of Danville won the super late model feature late Friday night and in doing so also clinched his first career Port Royal track championship by only 10 points over Dylan Yoder, who also finished second in the feature.

Rine took the lead from Gene Knaub following a lap 10 restart. It was his fifth win of the season.

Yoder, Andy Haus, Ralph Morgan Jr. and Kyle Lee completed the top five. Knaub, Roy Deese Jr., Tim Smith Jr., Marvin Winters and Shaun Jones rounded out the top 10.

Logan Wagner of Harrisonville won the sprint car track championship after Greg Hodnett was forced to a back-up car after destroying a car in the dash. Hodnett’s back-up car started the first time they tried it to warm-up the engine, but when they tried to start it for the main event, the car would not start and Hodnett received no feature points.

Wagner finished 10th in the feature beating Hodnett by 55 points.

Port Royal’s Tuscarora 50 was rained out Saturday night and will be made up at a later date. Qualifying time trials and one heat race was completed before rain hit the track.

Selinsgrove Speedway had the weekend off, but will return Saturday night with the annual Jim Nace Memorial National Open for the sprint cars paying $10,000 to win.

Selinsgrove’s Late Model National Open sanctioned by the World of Outlaws late models will be held the following Saturday, Sept. 22.

The World Series of Dirt Track Racing, featuring numerous divisions of dirt track racing will be featured over the weekend of Oct. 12-14.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.