The 2019 Northeast racing season looks for a full slate of racing action this weekend, with many local tracks hosting season openers.

Selinsgrove Speedway will swing open its gates for the 73rd season of racing tomorrow night, featuring a four division show. The 360 sprint cars, super late models, pro stocks and roadrunners will be in action, as gates open at 4 p.m. and racing starts at 6 p.m. Davey Franek (sprints), Bryan Bernheisel (LM), Kyle Bachman (P/S) and Keith Bissinger (RR) are the defending champions in their respective classes.

Grandview Speedway honors the memory of family patriarch, Bruce Rogers, with the Second Annual VP Racing Fuels Bruce Rogers Memorial, tomorrow night. The 50-lap feature will pay a whopping $7,500 to the winner, honoring the memory of the man who built the Bechtelsville oval into a nationally recognized facility, it has become.

Track regulars Jeff Strunk, Craig Von Dohren, Duane Howard, Frank Cozze and Mike Gular can expect many invaders to compete for the big payout. Outsiders Ryan Watt, Rick Laubach, Danny Johnson, Matt Sheppard, NASCAR Truck Series points leader Stewart Friesen, Billy Pauch Sr. and Billy Pauch Jr. are just a few who have contacted the track offices with plans to attend. Gates open at 4 p.m. and racing will start at 7 p.m. for the Modifieds and sportsman.

The fastest circle in racing, Mahoning Valley Speedway hosts a $3,000-to-win, 100-lap main event for its headline modified division tomorrow night to open the 2019 racing season at the Lehighton asphalt track. Joining the Modifieds with the 6 p.m. start will be the late models, street stocks, dirt Modifieds, pro four cylinders and hobby stocks.

Williams Grove Speedway hosts another doubleheader program this evening, as the USAC East Coast wingless sprint cars will join the weekly 410 sprint cars, with a 7:30 starting time.

Last week’s doubleheader at the Mechanicsburg oval included the ULMS Late Model Series joining the 410 sprint cars. Danny Dietrich bested Steve Buckwalter, Cory Haas, Brock Zearfoss and Brian Montieth completed the top five in the 25-lap sprint car feature, while Rick Eckert copped the ULMS feature over, Jason Covert, Mason Zeigler, Jason Weaver and Jeff Rine.

Lincoln Speedway hosts a three card show at 7 tomorrow night, with the wingless super sportsman joining the 358 sprint cars and 410 sprint cars. Freddie Rahmer grabbed his first win of the season at Lincoln last Saturday night in the 410 sprint car feature and Jeff Haligan won the 358 sprint car main event…Port Royal switches to its traditional 6 p.m. start time tomorrow evening with the first Camera and Autograph night for the fans. Gates open at 3 p.m. and racing goes green with the 410 sprint cars, super late models and 305 sprint cars at 6 p.m…Baps Motors Speedway hosts its first doubleheader weekend, as the winged super sportsman, limited late models, street stocks and extreme stocks are in action tomorrow with a 5 p.m. start time. The Newberrytown oval returns to action on Sunday with a three division wing show. The 410 sprint cars will share the docket with the 358 sprint cars and 305 sprint cars, with a 5 p.m. green flag…Five Mile Point Speedway (Binghamton, NY) opens for the 69th season tomorrow at 6 p.m. with the “Coldcracker” featuring the Grit Series Sportsman highlighting the schedule. Factory stocks, street stocks, four cylinders and 600cc mods will join the card, along with a special Cash Dash event for the Modifieds…Big Diamond Speedway has postponed today’s scheduled practice until Sunday. Gates will open Sunday morning at 11 and open practice will follow at 1 p.m. and conclude at 3 p.m. A 50-lap Enduro dash and vintage stock car exhibition will follow. Grandstand admission is free. The 48th season opener at the Schuylkill County oval will be next Friday night with a four division show of street stocks, roadrunners, sportsman and the headline Modified division, competing in a 30-lap feature, paying $4,000 to the winner…Clinton County Speedway hosts an open practice session tonight, as it prepares for its season opener, next Friday night. The 305 sprint cars, limited late models, pro stocks, 270 micro sprints and 600 micro sprints will be in action…Woodhull Raceway hosts practice sessions tomorrow and next Saturday, leading to its season opener on April 20.

The NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series heads to Las Vegas this weekend for the fourth of 24 events on the 2019 schedule. Doug Kalitta (Top Fuel), Robert Hight (Funny Car) and Bo Butner (Pro Stock) lead their respective point standings as the Series heads to the 20th Annual DENSO Plugs Four Wide Nationals at the Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Fox Sports1 will broadcast qualifying action tonight at 9:30, Sunday morning at 11:30 and eliminations will be broadcast on Sunday evening at 5:30. Steve Torrence (T/F), JR Todd (F/C) and Vincent Nobile (P/S) are the 2018 event winners.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.